Tue, 18 May 2021

Skipper Allan Alaalatoa will join Folau Fainga'a and James Slipper in an all-Wallabies front row with Darcy Swain and Murray Douglas making up the tight five.

Vice-captain Tom Cusack has been recalled at openside flanker and will be joined by Rob Valetini and Pete Samu in the loose trio.

In the backline, homegrown talent Mack Hansen has been named at fullback for his first Brumbies start. The Daramalan College product and Gungahlin Eagle made his Super Rugby debut off the bench against the Waratahs last year.

Joe Powell and Noah Lolesio will get a chance to reignite their combination at halfback, as will Irae Simone and Tevita Kuridrani in the midfield.

The electric Tom Wright and ever-reliable Andy Muirhead have been named on the wings, with Hansen completing the back three.

After starting the Brumbies' last three games pre-shutdown, Connal McInerney will be the replacement hooker alongside Scott Sio and Tom Ross as the front row reinforcements.

Lachlan McCaffrey and Will Miller are the other forward replacements, while livewire scrumhalf Issak Fines is in line for his Super Rugby debut off the bench.

Bayley Kuenzle and Len Ikitau will cover the other backline positions and round out the match-day 23.

"We couldn't be happier to see Mack earn his first start for the team," McKellar told the Brumbies' official website.

"He's a local product who's come through our system and he's been outstanding at training, not just since we've returned to HQ, but all season.

"It's also a really exciting opportunity for Issak to be making his debut on Saturday night. He's been part of our programme on a couple of occasions, he's always impressive at training and he's chomping at the bit to get out there and make an impact.

"The team is really excited to get back out on the field on Saturday night and it's going to be great to have professional rugby back in Australia."



15 Mack Hansen, 14 Andy Muirhead, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Irae Simone, 11 Tom Wright, 10 Noah Lolesio, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Pete Samu, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Rob Valentini, 5 Murray Douglas, 4 Darcy Swain, 3 Allan Alaalatoa (captain), 2 Folau Fainga'a, 1 James Slipper

Substitutes: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Tom Ross, 19 Lachlan McCaffrey, 20 Will Miller, 21 Issak Fines, 22 Bayley Kuenzle, 23 Len Ikitau


15 Dane Haylett-Petty (captain), 14 Andrew Kellaway, 13 Reece Hodge, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Ryan Louwrens, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Richard Hardwick, 6 Josh Kemeny, 5 Michael Stolberg, 4 Matt Philip, 3 Pone Fa'amausili, 2 Jordan Uelese, 1 Matt Gibbon

Substitutes: 16 Efitusi Ma'afu, 17 Cameron Orr, 18 Jermaine Ainsley, 19 Trevor Hosea, 20 Esei Haangana, 21 Rob Leota, 22 Frank Lomani, 23 Andrew Deegan

More Middle East News

Access More

Sign up for Middle East News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!